Wentworth, Survivors, and Train Rides

In about T-minus an hour and 15ish minutes, I will be able to watch the next episode of Outlander on Dish On Demand. Normally, I’m super excited. Who doesn’t get charged up to see Jamie and Claire (…so much gorgeousness, so little time…)? As loyal followers, we know that Wentworth is coming and Black Jack is back. Now, if you haven’t read the book(s), I will do my best to be spoiler free.

I know that I will watch Wentworth, but I am truly frightened. I HAVE read the books. At one point, I had to put the book down and walk away – the tears in my eyes made it hard for me to see (…damn allergies…). At first, I was very frustrated with Diana (…can I call you Diana?). Why did she put these poor characters through so much heartache? Oh, and SPOILER ALERT, she keeps doing it throughout the books! I actually had to take a break between books. My heart couldn’t take it any more, but I inevitably found myself back in Diana’s world. Her writing is fantastic and, truthfully, wherever Jamie is I want to be.

I digress…I’ve avoided a lot of social media for the past week knowing there would be complaints, speculations, tacky comments, and more. I’ve had a great inner debate as to whether I would be watching the Wentworth episode. Why would I want to put myself through it? Why did Diana feel it necessary to put us all through it? I think I may have figured a thing or two out.

Wentworth is not about victims. I can already hear you yelling, “Say what?!”. Stick with me here. After much thinking, I’ve started seeing Diana’s writing in a different light. Her story lines are not about victims, hopelessness, and/or defeat. She writes with a realistic flare (yes, I realize we are talking about a time-travel story). She does not avoid something to make us more comfortable. She does not choose her characters’ paths to make reading easier for us. She’s a no-nonsense writer. Let’s be honest. Reality really does bite sometimes. Life has kicked me in the teeth more times than I care to count and I’m pretty sure it’s not done with me yet. However, I’m still here and kicking back. I am stronger and smarter (for the most part) because of what I have been through. Giving in sometimes seems to be the best option, but you never know what can happen if you don’t keep going. There is an amazing quote by Han Nolan:

“There’s always light after the dark. You have to go through the dark place to get to it, but it’s there, waiting for you. It’s like riding on a train through a dark tunnel. If you get so scared you jump off in the middle of the ride, then you’re there, in the tunnel, stuck in the dark. You have to ride the train all the way to the end of the ride.” (Dancing on the Edge)

I say again, Wentworth is not about victims but survivors. There are some rough roads ahead for our characters but within the darkness there is light, within the pain there is healing. Even though they are fictional characters, I need to see that even those who think they are broken are able to be mended. I don’t want to use the word “whole”. Once we are broken, we are never quite the same, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. We are about to see a very broken man and my heart hurts with anticipation, but I will watch. I stayed by Jamie’s and Claire’s side through the books, I can’t abandon them now.

Watch. Don’t watch. It’s up to you, but do you really want to get off the train in the middle of the ride? I didn’t think so.

See you on the other side.

Leave a Reply

