An Open Letter to Cancer

hey cancer

Dear Cancer,

I have had enough of you. I’ve been patiently waiting for you to just slip out of existence, but you just keep going after people I love. Take a hint. I HATE YOU. I don’t think I ever hated anything until you came along. I tried – really tried – to give you the benefit of the doubt. I’ve blamed illnesses on lifestyle, age, or just the luck of the draw. No more. It’s all you. You and I are done.

When I was twelve, you came after one of my cherished, childhood friends. I didn’t really understand what was going on. You were so brutal; you took her before I had a chance to say goodbye. She was beautiful, talented, and sweeter than anyone I knew. She was my best friend. I needed her. You took her. She did NOT deserve to die. So, I repeat, I HATE YOU.

As a teen, you made one of my best friend’s mother suffer. You drug out her illness for what felt like years. You gave us false hope and then broke our hearts all over again. She had three beautiful daughters and a loving husband. They needed her and you took her. They still hurt. You are cold, uncaring, and selfish. I HATE YOU.

After I had my babies, you thought it would be fun to give me a little scare. I lucked out and you left me alone. But, you know what? Even before I knew you weren’t going to hurt me, I decided I wasn’t going down without a fight. I’d had enough of your crap. You were not taking me from my babies. You cared nothing for me, but I HATED YOU.

Last year, you decided to go after my friend. How dare you! He has a wife and a beautiful daughter. You seem to take joy in taking him bit by bit – piece by piece. You’ve taken his energy and some of his abilities. You want your victims weak and helpless. Guess what? He may be weak, but he’s not helpless. He’s fighting back, and that pisses you off, doesn’t it? HE HATES YOU TOO. You may eventually get him, but he is a fighter. When he is too weak to take a swing at you, we will be his arms. When he can no longer yell at you, we will be his voice. We are coming for you.

Three days ago I received a phone call…apparently you just can’t leave my loved ones alone. The beautiful woman who you are trying to take? She is NOT going to let you win. WE are not going to let you win. She has a husband and kids pulling for her. She has sisters and brothers to lean on. She has us, and you CANNOT have her. You may have taken some of her sight and even some of her strength but the tumor is gone. Surgery was successful. She may be weak, but you WILL NOT TAKE HER. You are not going to win this one. You CANNOT take another piece of my heart. I HATE YOU.

You have taken so many people I have loved – so many people who have touched my life. No more. I’m serious. You are on notice. I am pissed. I will do anything and everything I can. I may not be a doctor or a scientist but I can help charities and research. I can help promote good health in myself and others. I can help raise awareness. You are evil and sneaky, but YOU are the weak one. I’m coming for you and, yes, you should be scared. I may be small, but I fight dirty. Watch your a$$. You’re going down.

Kiss off,

Becky

Leave a Reply

